

For Release: May 23, 2013

The San Francisco/Northern California Chapter of The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences Announces the Winners of the 2012-13 REGIONAL STUDENT TELEVISION AWARDS FOR EXCELLENCE

The Board of Governors of the San Francisco/Northern California Chapter of The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences is pleased to announce the winners of the 2012-1013 Regional Student Television Awards for Excellence.

Entries were submitted by High Schools with media programs in the chapter's region, Visalia to the Oregon border including Reno, Nevada and Hawaii, for work done during the 2012-13 school year. The "Award for Excellence," an engraved glass pillar, is presented to the school with each student recipient receiving a certificate. The "Award for Merit" student receives a certificate.

Seven Pillars for Excellence and ten Certificates for Merit were awarded. The Academy of Integrated Humanities and New Media, Tamalpais High School, Mill Valley received a total of six awards; Wildcat Productions, WCTV 19, Whitney High School, Rocklin, three. Single recipients included: Flying Pepper Productions, Analy High School, Sebastopol; Maui High School, HI; Media Enterprise Alliance at KDOL-TV, Oakland Unified School District; Eye of the Tiger, Roseville High School; GetSports Focus.com, Saint Francis High School, Mountain View; ArtQuest @ Santa Rosa High School; K9 Studios, Sheldon High School, Sacramento; Searider Productions, Waianae High School, Oahu. HI.

NATAS Education chair, Steve Shlisky, KTVU Channel 2, excited to see new schools participating this year. "One of our biggest challenges finding and contacting high schools with media programs. This year's entries were among the best we have ever judged."

The Complete list of winners follows:

NEWSCAST

Award for Excellence: Searider Productions, Waianae High School, "Searider News," Jamie Lee Evangelista, Moana Faumuina, Producers; Shayla Ader, Claire Agmata, Charlemaine Blue, Shayla Bradley, Brandee Burgess, Crystal Cebedo, Daynalynn Chabotte, Jesa Mae Delos Reyes, Devn Desha Vierra, Gary Domingo Oka, Thomas Dupa, Maelani Eder, Kahunui Foster, Jaysha Hampp-Iriarte, Tressa Hoppe, Faron Jove, Kerstye Kau, Keani Malo, Kayla Manuel, Mahelani Nieto Lopes, Monique Paogofie, Autumn Pereira, Krystian Pi, Tancy Lee Smith Chee, Dezalynn Tiell, Diamond Tuisano, News Staff.

- Award for Merit: Eye of the Tiger, Roseville High School, "TigerCast News," Daniel Wetter, News Director/ Anchor; Meghan Julin, Anchor; Robbie Short, Reporter; Megan Blumm, Switcher/CG Operator; Danii Ulle, Audio; Haylee Sex, Sarah Looper, Teleprompter Operators; Bobby Ritter, Adviser.
- Award for Merit: WCTV19, Whitney High School, "Unleashed," Alina Barragan, Alex Espinosa, Taylor Hines, Shelbi Meyer, Samantha Willis, Reporters; Michael Abshear, Sophie Butler, Ashley Carstons, Justin Conti, Eric Franklin, Natasha Gose, Kelsey Lake, Brayde Leedy, Hunter Lemay, Sydney Mendoza, Rachel Peters, Hunter Pietrzak, Daniel Schetter, Jordan Traynor, Kalli Turner, Frankie Wenson, Photographers.

MUSIC VIDEO

- Award for Excellence: Flying Pepper Productions, Analy High School, "Phat Brahms," Max Brickey, Producer/Special Effects; Miles Pepper, Director/Writer/Editor; Sean Lea, Assoaite Producer; Nali Seeber, Writer; Sarah Diamond, Actress; Nick Rose, Actor,
- Award for Excellence: ArtQuest, Santa Rosa High School, "Priceless," Angelo Iervolino, Filmmaker, Editor.
- Award for Merit: K9 Studios, Sheldon High School, "Dadvid Garibaldi and his CMYKs," Lauren Morgan, Producer; Tyler Castelo, Matthew Klein, Directors; Andres Chavez, Editor; Kate Allen, Animator/Character Design; Cassis Cancilla, Paris Draper, Treh Faraj, Heather Fletcher, Nathan Foley, Amber Houseman, Stanley Smith, Kyle Spencer, Animators; Alexander Winters, Background/3D; Victoria Ibarra, Ink and Paint; Daniel Hargrove, Sound Design.

LONG FORM-NON-FICTION

- Award for Excellence: Academy of Integrated Humanities and New Media, Tamalpais High School, "Elvia," Sophia Ellingson, Sam Gates, Daniella Hunt, Alex Takeshita.
- Award for Merit: Academy of Integrated Humanities and New Media, Tamalpais High School, "American Horsepower," Adrian Duann, Brent Ferguson, Lyndsey Romjue, Elliott Siu.
 Award for Merit: Academy of Integrated Humanities and New Media, Tamalpais High School,
 "Where Have All The Cellos Gone?," Hana Dahl, Daniel Green, Cella Wright, Hannah Yerington,

SPORTS

Award for Merit: WCTV19, Whitney High School, "CAL Championship Game," Spencer Elmore, Director; Matt Judy, Play-by-play; Justin Chandler, Color Commentator; Frankie Wenson, Sideline; Brady Bellini, Kyle Branderhors, Brandon Rogers, Cameras; Zach Bennett, Audio/Social Media Reporter; Kolton Kruzic, Hunter Pietrzak, Grips.

PUBLIC SERVICE ANNOUNCMENT (PSA)

- Award for Excellence: Maui High School, "Notice a Difference?," Jessica Green, Writer, Director, Director of Photography, Editor.
- Awarde for Merit: WCTV19, Whitney High School, "The Wrong Choice," Eric Franklin, Daniel Schetter,

PUBLIC AFFAIRS/COMMUNITY SERVICE

- Award for Excellence: Academy of Integrated Humanities and New Media, Tamalpais High School, "A Special Education," Alexis Agoustari, Stephanie Lee, Kayne Nau, Madé Sandrolini.
- Award for Merit: Academy of Integrated Humanities and New Media, Tamalpais High School, "Art is Power," Sean Eghtessadi, Ryan O'Boyle, Elliott Siu, Riley Sykes.

CRAFTS ANIMATION/GRAPHICS/SPECIAL EFFECTS

Award for Excellence: Media Enterprise Alliance at KDOL-TV, Oakland Unified School District,
 "Wake Up Call: Time to ACT on Climate Change," Guayo Cartagena, Kevin Gonzalez,
 Lawrence Newsome, Francisco Palma, Karen Perez, Dontae Sharp, Pancho Toscano, Hector Verduzco, Samaiyah Zareef-Mustafa, Producers.

PHOTOGRAPHY

Award for Merit: Academy of Integrated Humanities and New Media, Tamalpais High School, "Monkey Street," Jack Brown, Francesca Chiliorio, Erika Witt, Emmanuella Zachariou.

TALENT

Award for Merit: GetSportsFocus.com, Saint Francis High School, "Alex Simon Talent Composite," Alex Simon, Sports Reporter

#

Contact: Darryl Compton, 415-777-0212, darryl@emmysf.tv