Updated: May 9, 2015



# The San Francisco/Northern California Chapter of The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Announces the Winners of the 2014-15 REGIONAL STUDENT TELEVISION AWARDS FOR EXCELLENCE

The Board of Governors of the San Francisco/Northern California Chapter of The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2014-1015 Regional Student Television Awards for Excellence.

Entries were submitted by High Schools with media programs in the chapter's region, Visalia to the Oregon border including Reno, Nevada and Hawaii, for work done during the 2014-15 school year. The "Award for Excellence," an engraved glass pillar, is presented to the school with each student recipient receiving a certificate. The "Award for Merit" each student receives a certificate.

Nine Pillars for Excellence up from five last year and Seven Certificates for Merit were awarded. Maui High School, Kahului, HI and Whitney High School, Rocklin, CA, each received two Awards of Excellenc. Searider Productions, Wai'anae High School, Wai'anae, HI, received an Award of Excellence and four Awards of Merit. Other Excellence and Merit winners included: The Academy of Integrated Humanities and New Media, Tamalpais High School, Mill Valley; Franklin High School, Elk Grove; Media Enterprise Alliance at KDOL-TV, Oakland Unified School District; Moanalua High School, Honolulu, HI; and Sheldon High School, Sacramento.

NATAS Education chair, **Steve Shlisky**, KTVU FOX 2, said "the quality and professionalism of our high school entries gets better each year. Our judges enjoy viewing these submissions more that other chapters Emmy® entries. The future of our industry is strong the next generation of media professionals."

The Complete list of winners follows:

# **High School - Newscast**

Award of Excellence: Searider Productions, Wai'anae High School, Wai'anae, HI, "Searider News,"
 Marcela Bator, Producer/Writer; Raeanna Labrador, Producer/Editor; Jazmine Calixtro,
 Crystal Cebedo, Cayla Paulo, Diamond Tuisano, Anchors; Gary Domingo-Oka, Director of Photography/Anchor; John Allen, Advisor

### **News Story - Serious News**

Award of Excellence: Maui High School, Kahului, HI, "Blue Thunder: Final Days,"

Austin Alimbuyuguen, Producer/Camera/Editor; Clint Gima, Advisor

Award of Excellence: Maui High School, Kahului, HI, "ALS Angel," Renezel Lagran,

Producer/Camera; **Zoe Whitney**, Writer/Camera; **Sydney Dempsey**, Camera/Editor; **Clint Gima**, Advisor

Award of Merit: Searider Productions, Wai'anae High School, Wai'anae, HI, "Water Safety Heroes,"
 Crystal Cebedo, Anchor; Marcela Bator, Writer; Raeanna Labrador, Head Photographer;
 Jaena Campos, Assistant Photographer; John Allen, Advisor

## **News Story - Light News**

Award of Merit: Media Enterprise Alliance at KDOL-TV, Oakland, CA, "OUSD Farm to School: California Thursdays," Nelzy Gonzalez, Producer/Reporter; Ja'Lenn Polar, Camera/Editor; Myles McConico, Assistant Camera; Takeda Washington, Assistant Camera/Editor; Alpha Cisse, Tony Friend, Eddie Perez, Animators; Saidah Brown, Jade Herbert, Production Assistants; Jake Schoneker. Advisor

# **Long Form - Fiction**

Award of Merit: Searider Productions, Wai'anae High School, Wai'anae, HI, "The last day," Raeanna Labrador, Producer; Crystal Cebedo, Director; Diamond Tuisano, Writer; Gary Domingo-Oka, Director of Photography; Darius Adams, Jonathan Evangelista, Camera Assistants; Marcela Bator, Abreen Padeken, Grips; John Allen, Advisor

# **Long Form - Non-Fiction**

Award of Excellence: Moanalua High School, Honolulu, HI, "Many Rivers One Ocean," Beau Nakamori, Director/Editor; Landon Maurcio, Dustin Palea, Cameras; Sharon Oh, Camera/Grip; Mark Ikenaga, Advisor;

<u>Award of Merit:</u> Moanalua High School, Honolulu, HI, "Reflection," **Landon Mauricio**, **Beau Nakamori**, Actor/Camera/Editors; **Mark Ikenaga**, Advisor

Award of Merit: AIM/Tamalpais High School, Mill Valley, CA, "Mindscape," Hana Dahl, Linh Huynh, Paula Venables, Hannah Yerington, Filmmakers; Mike Goldstein, Mike Lavezzo, Sharilyn Scharf, Advisors

### **Sports**

Award of Merit: Searider Productions, Wai'anae High School, Wai'anae, HI, "Complete Harmonie,"
 Diamond Tuisano, Reporter; Gary Domingo-Oka, Director of Photography;
 Mahealani Nieto-Lopes, Mylea-Lynn Saga-Moore, Grips; John Allen, Advisor

# **Animation/Graphics/Special Effects**

<u>Award of Excellence:</u> Franklin High School, Elk Gove, CA, "Marvin's TV Troubles," Cameron Pon, Animator; **Brad Clark**, Advisor

Award of Excellence: K9 Studios, Sheldon High School, Sacramento, CA, "Nail'd," Nina Sanchez, Christopher Simons, Producers; Paris Draper, Kyle Spencer, Directors; Long Nguyen, Editor; Cassis Cece Cancilla, Amber Houseman, Character Design/Animators; Katie Butler, Shane Desomer, Allister Gayas, Heather Fletcher, Angelica Sanchez, Animators; Jared Harvey, Head of Backgrounds; Tommy Le, Justin Nguyen, Alison O'nell, Nathaniel Yamamoto, Backgrounds; Trevor Kliest, Graphic Design; Andrew Dang, Sound; Shawn Sullivan, Advisor

# **Photography**

<u>Award of Excellence:</u> Whitney High School, Rocklin, CA, "Michael Abshear's Photography," Michael Abshear, Photographer; Ben Barnholdt, Advisor;

<u>Award of Merit:</u> Searider Productions, Wai'anae High School, Wai'anae, HI, "Stop and Smell the Orchids," **Raeanna Labrador**, Photographer; **Marcela Bator**, Reporter; **John Allen**, Advisor

# **Talent**

<u>Award of Excellence:</u> Whitney High School, Rocklin, CA, "Matt Judy's Talent Reel," **Matt Judy**, Anchor; **Ben Barnholdt**, Advisor

# Writing

Award of Excellence: AIM/Tamalpais High School, Mill Valley, CA, "Where I'm From," Cam Vernali, Writer; Mike Goldstein, Mike Lavezzo, Sharilyn Scharf, Advisors

Contact: Darryl Compton, Executive Director 415-777-0212 <a href="mailto:darryl@emmysf.tv">darryl@emmysf.tv</a>