



The San Francisco/Northern California Chapter of The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Announces the Recipients of the 2017-18 REGIONAL STUDENT PRODUCTION AWARDS FOR EXCELLENCE

The Board of Governors of the San Francisco/Northern California Chapter of The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2017-1018 Regional Student Television Production Awards for Excellence.

Entries were submitted by High Schools with media programs in the chapter's region, Visalia to the Oregon border including Reno, Nevada and Hawaii, for work done during the 2017-18 school year. The "Award for Excellence," an engraved glass pillar, is presented to the school with each student recipient receiving a certificate. The "Award for Merit" each student receives a certificate. A total of 87 entries were received from 12 high schools.

A record 13 Pillars for Excellence 17 Certificates for Merit were awarded.

Five high schools will receive Pillars, **Buchanan High School**, Clovis with four; **Moanalua High School**, Honolulu, and **Whitney High School**, Rocklin received three; **Wai'anae High School**, Honolulu two; and **Tamalpais High School**, Mill Valley one.

Certificates of Merit are going to seven high schools: **Moanalua High School** and **Wai'anae High School**, Honolulu, four; **Tamalpais High School**, Mill Valley and **Whitney High School**, Rocklin, three; **Buchanan High School**, Clovis, **Franklin High School**, Elk Grove and **Maui High School**, Kahului with single awards.

NATAS Education chair, **Keith Sanders** of San Jose State University, will arrange for Academy Board Members to attend each high school's awards programs to present the pillars and certificates to each student.

The Pillar recipients "Award of Excellence," will move forward to a national competition between all 19 chapters of NATAS.

The Complete list of recipients follows:

Newscast

Excellence: Whitney High School, WCTV19. "Unleashed"

Faith Abercrombie, Ryan, Witt, News Directors; Emma Perra, Assistant News Director; Emily Manzer, Meghan Townsley, Production Managers; Alyssa Pearce, Assistant Production Manager; Ryan Bower, George Loureiro, Sports Directors; Kylie Thompson, Business Manager; Evan Risucci, Station Manager; Ben Barnholdt, Advisor

Merit: Wai'anae High School, Searider Productions. "Searider News"

Deana Goslin, Producer; Tyler Bright, Managing Editor; Elizabeth Ufi, Anchor;

Austin Ibanes, Head Photographer; John Allen, Advisor

News: General Assignment - Serious News

Excellence: Wai'anae High School, Searider Productions. "Voyage Through Generations"

Tyler Bright, Reporter; Julia Forrest, Writer; Deana Goslin, Photographer; Austin Ibanes, Editor;

John Allen, Advisor

Merit: Maui High School. "I Am Able"

Yasha Ronquillo, Reporter/Videographer/Editor; Axl Reitz Daguio, Writer/Editor; Clint Gima, Advisor

News: General Assignment - Light News

Merit: Moanalua High School. "Heart Over Height"

Mari Kimoto, Reporter; Caleb Casinas, Interviewer; Trinna Tran, Writer; Jiliann Takamoto, Editor;

Austin Zavala, Advisor

Merit: Whitney High School, WCTV19, "Exploring the police force"

Presley Burgess, Reporter; Ryan Witt, Photographer; Ben Barnholdt, Advisor

Merit: Whitney High School, WCTV19, "March for Change"

Karla Barajas, Reporter; Morgan Schaefer, Photographer; Ben Barnholdt, Advisor

Arts and Entertainment/Cultural Affairs

Excellence: Tamalpais High School, AIM, "Off Beat"

Maren Curtis, Anya DiMaio, Siena Kuhn, Lila McNeil, Filmmakers

Mike Goldstein, Mike Lavezzo, Sharilyn Scharf, Advisors

Merit: Moanalua High School. "Waves of Aloha"

Erin Nomura, Reporter; Kari Lau, Lyrah Panarigan, Writers; Chloe Popa, Editor;

Austin Zavala, Advisor

Music Video

Excellence: Buchanan High School. "I Built A Friend"

Hannah Weaver, Producer/Director/Writer/Cinematographer/Editor;

Sienna Delgado, Producer/Photographer; Daniel Pearce, Advisor

Merit: Tamalpais High School, AIM. "Gosh"

Quinn Campfield, Anya DiMaio, Keldon Duane-McGlashan, Kate Hofele, Filmmakers;

Mike Goldstein, Mike Lavezzo, Sharilyn Scharf, Advisors

Short Form - Fiction

Excellence: Moanalua High School. "Tomorrow The World"

Camryn Tabiolo, Director/Photographer; Kainoa Ferguson, Talent/Photographer;

Logan Mauricio, Annika Wong, Talent; Mark Ikenaga, Advisor

Merit: Buchanan High School. "Checkmate"

Vivianna Ayaviri, Writer/Photographer/Set Design; Crystal Le, Writer/Photographer/Editor;

Ryan Kish, Writer/Audio/Color; Ethan DeLaPena, Photographer; Daniel Pearce, Advisor

Short Form - Non-Fiction

Excellence: Buchanan High School. "Heart of the Horse Therapy Ranch"

Madelyn Mason, Director/Photographer/Editor; Ulysses Larios, Riley Wissink, Photographer/Editor;

Dylan Nulick, Photographer; Daniel Pearce, Advisor

Merit: Tamalpais High School, AlM. "For a Few Dollars More"

Madeline Bell, Ellie Bloom, Fergus Campbell, Alex Roose, Filmmakers

Mike Goldstein, Mike Lavezzo, Sharilyn Scharf, Advisors

Merit: Tamalpais High School, AIM. "Substitution"

Griffin Barry, Kai Kohlwes, Ian Pratt, Haley Waldron, Filmmakers

Mike Goldstein, Mike Lavezzo, Sharilyn Scharf, Advisors

Sports

Merit: Wai'anae High School, Searider Productions. "Wrestling with the weight"

Amee Neves, Reporter; Nicole Tagalcud, Writer; Brayzhelle Wiliams-Quitog, Photographer;

Jayden Kepoo Caspino, Editor; John Allen, Advisor

Sports - Live Event

Merit: Whitney High School, WCTV19. "Roseville at Whitney Football"
Sierra Bedrin, Director; Nolan Hoffart, Replay Director; Perri Nguyen, Sideline Producer;
Alex Amrine, George Loureiro, Anchors; Faith Abercrombie, Sideline Reporter; Hayley Trujillo,
Social Media Reporter; Anthony Baglietto, Shawn Bellini, Francesco Conetta, Gage Eastlick,
Jaden Hill, Blake Lindsay, Jacob Meister, Cameras; Ben Barnholdt, Advisor

Public Service (PSAs)

Excellence: Wai'anae High School, Searider Productions. "Good Food = Better Mood"
Chloe Galinato, Producer; Makana Allen, Director; Justin Rey Durupan, Photographer;

Andrew Chalmers, Editor; John Allen, Advisor Merit: Franklin High School. "Smoking Kills PSA"

Raymond Wang, Writer,/Director,/Editor; Brad Clark, Advisor

Public Affairs/Community Service

Merit: Wai'anae High School, Searider Productions. "Waianae Strong"
Nicole Taglicud, Producer; Jayden Kepoo Caspino, Director; Amee Neves, Writer;
Brayzhelle Wiliams-Quitog, Photographer; John Allen, Advisor

Commercial

Excellence: Whitney High School, WCTV19. "Let's have a Debate" **Jack Grove, Evan Risucci,** Videographers; **Ben Barnholdt**, Advisor

Animation/Graphics/Special Effects

Excellence: Buchanan High School. "I Built A Friend"

Sienna Delgado, Hannah Weaver, Animation/Graphics; Daniel Pearce, Advisor

Merit: Wai'anae High School, Searider Productions. "Sunshine"

Charity Blue, Tate Ebel, Shadrach Lagrimas, Nicole Manuel, Teah Martin, Kureha Pambid, Christian Peebles, Jonavan Valsez, Animator; John Allen, Advisor

Audio/Sound

Excellence: Moanalua High School. "Tutoring"

Kainoa Ferguson, Camryn Tabiolo, Audio/Sound; Mark Ikenaga, Advisor

Merit: Moanalua High School. "Pareidolia"

Chloe Popa, Camryn Tabiolo, Audio/Sound; Mark Ikenaga, Advisor

Photographer

Excellence: Whitney High School, WCTV19. "Evan Risucci Cinematography Reel"

Evan Risucci, Videographer; Ben Barnholdt, Advisor

Merit: Moanalua High School. "Run"

Kylan Tomita, Photographer; Mark Ikenaga, Advisor

Video Essay (Single Camera Only)

Excellence: Buchanan High School. "Jamie Hansen - A Grower's Story"

Joseph Malcolm, Video Journalist; Daniel Pearce, Advisor

Writing

Excellence: Moanalua High School. "Tomorrow The World"

Kainoa Ferguson, Logan Mauricio, Camryn Tabiolo, Annika Wong, Writers; Mark Ikenaga, Advisor

* * * * *

Contact: Darryl Compton, Executive Director, 650-341-7786 darryl@emmysf.tv