Emmy SF Gracefully Honors Gold & Silver Circle Class of '22

By: Kevin Wing, SF Chapter Vice President & Joyce Mitchell, Gold & Silver Circle Committee Chair

Smiles filled a packed banquet room in south San Francisco November 12th for the 2022 Gold & Silver Circle induction ceremony. Eight television veterans were honored, celebrating either 25+ or 50+ years working in the TV industry. In addition to time spent in the business, these professionals also have made huge contributions to the industry, community or both.

“The event is one of two held by the TV Academy, the other being the Emmy Gala,” said Joyce Mitchell (SC Class of 2010), Gold & Silver Circle committee chair. “While the gala is wonderful, love seems to envelope the banquet hall during the Silver Circle luncheon event. This year was extra special since we also saluted the classes of 2020 and 2021 that were inducted virtually because of COVID.”

Honored in the Gold Circle this year was Spencer Christian (SC Class of 2013) from San Francisco station KGO ABC 7. Also going into Gold Circle was Fresno’s Kopi Sotiropulos (SC Class of 2018), news and weather anchor at KMPH-TV Fox 26.

Six people were inducted into Silver Circle. They are KGO News Reporter Leslie Brinkley, Sacramento KCRA News Anchor/Reporter Deirdre Fitzpatrick, KGO retired News Producer Bill Green, KPIX 5 Photographer Bob Horn, KCRA Engineer/SNG Operator Dave Ramos and retired Reporter Rob Roth from KTVU Fox 2.

KNTV News Anchor Jessica Aguirre (SC Class of 2018) hosted the induction ceremony with wit and grace. Connecting TV veterans with student broadcasters was a key element of the day’s rundown.  

The Gold & Silver Circle supports the NATAS Scholarship Program. Education Chair Toby Momtaz announced the year’s student recipients.

“What a joy it is to introduce students who made some amazing videos competing for our scholarships,” said Momtaz. “For me, this event is stellar because it includes students and professionals. They get a chance to all meet and talk. It’s a win-win.”

Students awarded scholarships were Shirin Bina, Laney College; Saul Ocana, California State University, Fresno; Karlee Hobbs, California State University, Fresno; Yen-Chi (Chris) Chang, University of California, Berkeley-Graduate School of Journalism; Mary Jane Johnson, University of California, Berkeley-Graduate School of Journalism; and Cesar Rojas Angel, University of California, Berkeley-Graduate School of Journalism.

Guests enjoyed and toasted inductees and scholarship recipients with Earthquake Cabernet Sauvignon from the Michael David Winery, Chardonnay from Lightpost Winery and champagne from Guglielmo Winery. Nominations for the 2023 Gold & Silver Circle are being accepted now through April 15th.

Click here to view photos & videos from the event.