Student Production Award Recipients Announced

The Board of Governors of the San Francisco/Northern California Chapter of The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2022-2023 Regional Student Television Production Awards for Excellence.

Entries were submitted by high schools with media programs in the chapter’s region – Visalia to the Oregon border including Reno, Nevada and Hawaii – for work done during the 2022-2023 school year. The “Award for Excellence,” an engraved glass pillar, is presented to the school with each student recipient receiving a certificate.

The “Award for Merit” is presented to each student in the form of a certificate. A total of 178 entries were received from 19 high schools. Eleven Pillars for Excellence and 29 Certificates for Merit are being awarded.

“Our regional student production award-winners represent future broadcast journalists, filmmakers and entertainers, and our goal is to recognize their efforts and encourage their pursuit of excellence,” said chapter Education Chair Toby Momtaz. “Once again, we express our gratitude for the third year in a row, as a generous couple has made a substantial donation to cover all the expenses of the contest.”

Six high schools will receive Pillars of Excellence, Buchanan High School, Clovis; Franklin High School, Elk Grove; Granite Bay High School, Granite Bay; Gunn High School, Palo Alto; Moanalua High School, Honolulu, HI; and Wai’anae High School Searider Productions, Wai’anae, HI.

Certificates of Merit also going to 11 high schools: Abraham Lincoln High School, San Jose; Buchanan High School, Clovis; El Diamante High School, Visalia; Franklin High School, Elk Grove; Granite Bay High School, Granite Bay; Moanalua High School, Honolulu, HI; Palo Alto High School, Palo Alto; Redwood High School, Visalia; Tamalpais High School, Academy of Integrated Humanities and New Media (AIM), Mill Valley; Wai’anae High School Searider Productions, Wai’anae, HI; and Whitney High School WCTV19, Rocklin. The “Award of Excellence” Pillar recipients will move forward to a national competition between all 19 chapters of NATAS. National recipients will be announced in the Fall of 2023.

View and download the full release here