Nominees for the 40th Annual News & Documentary Emmy® Awards Announced

New York, N.Y. – Nominations for the 40th Annual News and Documentary Emmy® Awards were announced by The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS).  The News & Documentary Emmy® Awards will be presented on Tuesday, September 24th, 2019, at a ceremony at Lincoln Center’s Alice Tully Hall in New York City. The event will be attended by more than 1,000 television and news media industry executives, news and documentary producers and journalists.


“The clear, transparent, and factual reporting provided by these journalists and documentarians is paramount to keeping our nation and its citizens informed,” said Adam Sharp, President & CEO, NATAS. “Even while under attack, truth and the hard-fought pursuit of it must remain cherished, honored, and defended. These talented nominees represent true excellence in this mission and in our industry.”

In addition to celebrating this year’s nominees in forty-nine categories, the National Academy is proud to honor Andrea Mitchell, NBC News’ chief foreign affairs correspondent and host of MSNBC’s “Andrea Mitchell Reports,” the Academy’s Lifetime Achievement Award for her groundbreaking 50-year career covering domestic and international affairs.

The 40th Annual News & Documentary Emmy® Awards honors programming distributed during the calendar year 2018.

The list of nominees is also available on the National Television Academy’s website:

About The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) is a professional, non-profit service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy® Award for News & Documentary, Sports, Daytime Entertainment, Daytime Creative Arts & Entertainment, Public & Community Service, plus Technology & Engineering. NATAS membership consists of over 17,000 broadcast and media professionals represented in 19 regional chapters across the country.  Beyond awards, NATAS has extensive educational programs including Regional Student Television and its Student Award for Excellence for outstanding journalistic work by high school students, as well as scholarships, publications, and major activities for both industry professionals and the viewing public.  For more information, please visit the website at 

The numerical breakdown, by media entities, as compiled by the independent accountancy firm of Lutz and Carr, LLP, follows:

Over-the-Air, Cable, Satellite and Internet Broadcast Nominees

PBS 47 Contrast/ Al Jazeera English 1
CBS 33 Discovery Networks Latin America / US Hispanic 1
HBO 32 CondeNast them. 1
CNN 15 DNA Films 1
The New York Times 12 ESPN Deportes 1
Univision 10 Fox News 1
NBC 9 GQ / Condé Nast Entertainment 1
National Geographic 8 Great Big Story 1
Netflix 6 Hulu 1
CNN International 5 Investigation Discovery 1
MSNBC 5 Newsy 1
Telemundo 5 Retro Report and Quartz 1
Al Jazeera International USA 2 Retro Report and The New Yorker 1
BBC World News 2 Showtime 1
CNN en Español 2 Spin Film/ RYOT 1
Nat Geo Wild 2 Starz 1
Paramount Network 2 Time 1
Smithsonian Channel 2 Vox 1
VOD 2 The Washington Post 1
World 2 The Weather Channel 1
A&E 1 The Weather Channel Digital and Telemundo with Efran Films 1
The Center for Investigative Reporting 1 YouTube 1

Regional Nominees

KING-TV 1 Rocky Mountain PBS 1

Back to “Off Camera” INDEX page…