College Scholarship Application Deadline: May 31

by Keith Sanders
Chapter Education Chairperson

Our chapter of NATAS awards College Scholarships to encourage students who demonstrate leadership and talent in advancing the artistic, cultural, educational, and technical qualities of television. $2,000 and $3,000 scholarships are available.

The deadline to apply is May 31, 2018. You can apply to the following undergraduate and graduate college scholarships:

$3,000 Jerry Jensen Memorial Scholarship to the outstanding graduate student. Jerry Jensen anchored News Scene on KGO with Van Amburg for more than ten years until his death on March 26,1984. Jerry died of pancreatic cancer at the age of 49. Jensen joined KGO-TV in 1969 as the weekend anchor. Prior to channel 7, he anchored at KBHK and KRON. Jerry was awarded the NATAS Governors’ Citation in 1968.

 $3,000 Steve Davis Memorial Scholarship to the outstanding undergraduate student. Steve Davis was a anchor/reporter for KGO-TV news for more than 20 years in the ‘70 and ‘80s. He covered major events from Patty Hearst to Jim Jones and anchored the 5 p.m. News. Davis was let go in 1989 but won an age discrimination suit against ABC in 1992. Davis died of cancer on March 18, 2005.

$2,000 Peter J. Marino, Jr. Memorial Production Scholarship for undergraduate students. Peter Marino was a stalwart member of the Chapter and co-founder of the Scholarship Program. He was well known for his public relation exploits, and as a music and video producer. Marino was a principle in a Bay Area recording studio and represented several recording companies. This scholarship covers a variety of production job disciplines.

$2,000 Rigo Chacon Reporting Scholarship for undergraduate students. Multiple Emmy® award-winning television reporter Rigo Chacon and his wife, Lucy, offer a scholarship to an outstanding student who aspires in the field of television reporting. Now retired, Chacon worked at KGO-ABC7 for 29 years as a general assignment reporter and opened the first Santa Clara County bureau of a San Francisco-based TV station. Among his many honors, Chacon is a member of the Television Academy’s prestigious Silver Circle.

$2,000 Sheldon “Shelley” Fay Memorial Videography Scholarship for undergraduate students. The family and friends of Shelly Fay started a scholarship to an outstanding videographer. Shelly was a multitalented television professional who worked in the San Francisco Bay Area as a producer, photographer, director and editor for more than 25 years, mostly at KPIX-CBS5.

$2,000 Kenneth Sloat Langley Memorial Scriptwriting Scholarship for undergraduate students. Kenneth Sloat Langley was a founding member of the San Francisco/ Northern California Chapter, serving as our first Vice President and National Trustee, from 1961-63, and later as Program Chair in 1986. Professionally, Ken was Program Assistant at CBSTV from 1952-55, a producer, writer, director for KCBS Radio during the years 1957-60, and Director of TV and Radio for the Tuberculosis Association of California until his death.

$2,000 “Miss Nancy” Besst Graduate Memorial Scholarship. “Miss Nancy” Besst, one of the founding members of the NATAS Northern California Chapter, started her career in Baltimore, MD as a staff teacher for Romper Room. Moving to San Francisco she became “Miss Nancy” on Romper Room from 1958-1969. She hosted many programs on KQED, KGO, KRON and KBHK. Nancy is a member of the SilverCircle, 1988, and has received the Governors’ Service Medallion, 1994; Governors’ Citation, 1996, and the Governors’ Award, 1998.

Scholarship checks will be presented at the annual Gold & Silver Circle Induction Luncheon – this year on October 20, at the Park Central Hotel, San Francisco. Please click this link to learn about entry preparation and rules.

Any questions, email us!


Back to “Off Camera” Index page…