Off Camera Header 2021

NATAS Members Selected as Recipients of Maynard Institute’s 200 Fellows

NATAS congratulates KTVU’S Kristin Bender & KQED’s Priya David Clemens on being selected by the Maynard Institute’s 200 Fellows! 









The Robert C. Maynard Institute for Journalism Education, a nonprofit dedicated to expanding diversity in the news media and dismantling structural racism in newsrooms, announced the recipients of its 2022 Maynard 200 Fellowship. The fellowship is on track to meet its 2023 goal of cultivating 200 media leaders dedicated to advancing diversity, equity, inclusion and belonging in journalism. The program is supported by the Google News Initiative, the Craig Newmark Philanthropies, The Hearthland Foundation, and The McClatchy Foundation. The Fox Corporation is a sponsor for the 2022 program.

“We look forward to welcoming the Maynard 200 class of 2022, especially as we return to in-person training at our university host site– the USC Annenberg School of Communication and Journalism,” said Odette Alcazaren-Keeley, Maynard 200 director. “Our customized curriculum across four tracks, propels the professional acumen of storytellers, frontline editors and managers, newsroom leaders and entrepreneurs, amplifies their diverse voices, and builds allyship grounded in equity and belonging. This is pivotal especially now, in chronicling the crises of our time.”

“Earlier generations of Maynard Institute program alumni have ascended to the highest levels of  American journalism. We have great hopes that graduates of Maynard 200 will have similar accomplishments,” said Evelyn Hsu, co-executive director of the institute.

Fellows are affiliated with a mix of mainstream, ethnic, local community and niche media, as well as entrepreneurial ventures. 

The 2022 Maynard 200 cohort includes:

Maria Lenn Almadin-Thornhill 
– CourtTV

P. Kenneth Burns – WHYY-FM, Philadelphia
Iridian Casarez – North Coast Journal, Inc.
Stefanos Chen – The New York Times 
Jessica Chou – Insider
Tony Daquipa – Oakland Voices
Paresh Dave – Reuters
Emily Elena Dugdale – KPCC Southern California Public Radio/LAist
Amber Ferguson –  The Washington Post
William J. Ford – The Washington Informer
Tekendra Parmar – Business Insider
Alison Saldanha – The Seattle Times 
Romita Saluja – The Washington Post, Foreign Policy, The Lily, Ms. Magazine, Fuller Project  
TaMaryn Waters – Tallahassee Democrat/USA TODAY Network
Aallyah Wright – Capital B News

Kristin Bender 
– KTVU Fox 2

Jasmine Brown – ABC World News Tonight with David Muir
Corinne Chin – The Associated Press
Michael Cruz – The Arizona Republic\Gannett
Brandon T. Harden – Insider, Inc.
Alexandria Hasenstab – Oregon Public Broadcasting
Bourree Lam – The Wall Street Journal
Yuri Nagano – Bloomberg Industry Group
Ngoc Nguyen -Kaiser Health News
Patricia Peart – Fox News Media
Beena Raghavendran – The New York Times
Joe Ruiz – CNN Politics
Brianna Tucker – The Washington Post
Neeti Upadhye – The Washington Post
Denise Michelle Watson – The Virginian-Pilot/Daily Press
Christina Yao Lee – Houston Public Media

Christine Brouwer 
– Good Morning America/ABC News

Laura Janelle Downey – WebMD
Larry Graham – The Diversity Pledge Institute
Renee Haran – Cisco
Miranda Kennedy – NPR
Victor Lim – Chicago Public Media
Marla Jones Newman – Mother Jones
Manuel McDonell Smith – CBS News Philadelphia
Ben Trefny – KALW Public Media
Marcus Vanderberg – ESPN
Jill Van Why – Fox News Media
Stephanie Wu – Eater/Vox Media  

Elizabeth Alesse
 – ABC News Audio

Quinton R. Arthur – QRamone Media
Angelica Cabral – What’s Next website and Magazine/East Bay Times
Arcynta Childs – Homegirl Media
Priya David Clemens – KQED, PBS TV
Nancy Flores – Austin Vida 
Melba Y. Newsome – Coastal Plains Environmental Advocate
Emilya Piansay – Kwest On Media
Shaneen Quarles – Shaneen Speaks: Divine Communications and Connections, Inc.
Mariela Santos-Muñiz – BoriMás/MSM Media LLC/Center For Cooperative Media
Rasheed Shabazz – Oakland Voices
Corey Takahashi – S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications, Syracuse University
Michael Tennant – Curiosity Lab/Actually Curious
Lisa D. Tinsley – KISA Public Radio

The Maynard 200 program continues to strengthen the institute’s long-standing partnership with USC Annenberg, bound by a shared commitment to accelerate the career advancement of the next generation of media professionals.

 About the Maynard Institute for Journalism Education

For more than 40 years, the Maynard Institute has fought to push back against the systemic lack of diversity in the news industry through training, collaborations and convenings. Founded by Robert C. Maynard, the Institute promotes diversity and antiracism in the news media through improved coverage, hiring and business practices. We are creating better representation in America’s newsrooms through our Maynard 200 fellowship program, which gives media professionals of color the tools to become skilled storytellers, empowered executives and inspired entrepreneurs. Visit Maynard Institute to learn more.

Back to the “Off Camera” INDEX page…