$21,000 in College Scholarships Available from Chapter

Must apply by May 31

By Keith Sanders
Chapter Education Chairperson

Your window to receive thousands of dollars from our chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences will end this month. You don’t even have to be a NATAS member, but you do need to be a college student. You could receive as much as $5,000 in the form of a scholarship. $21,000 in graduate and undergraduate scholarships are available.

Scholarship Class of 2017

Does this sound like a scam? It’s not. But there are a few rules:

You must be actively engaged in a collegiate-level curriculum in one or more areas of the television industry and be attending a college in Northern California (Visalia to the Oregon border), Hawaii, or Reno, Nevada.

You must have completed at least one undergraduate academic year of television studies, or be enrolled in a television graduate program.

You must have at least one remaining year of undergraduate study for the undergraduate scholarships or one remaining year of graduate study for the graduate scholarship.

Scholarship recipients are not eligible for a second scholarship in the year following their award.

You must apply by May 31, 2018.

We’re offering two new scholarships this year.

The new $5,000 Louise Jorjorian Memorial Scholarship awards the best overall graduate or undergraduate student. All entrants will be considered for this top award.

The new $2,000 Linda Giannecchini Professional Development Scholarship is designed for applicants who already work in the TV industry and are in pursuit of a formal undergraduate or graduate degree.

Our chapter will continue to award the outstanding graduate and undergraduate entries $3,000 in memory of legendary KGO anchors Jerry Jensen and Steve Davis, as well as three $2,000 undergraduate student scholarships in television production, reporting and videography, plus one $2,000 graduate scholarship for work in production, reporting and videography.

Each applicant may receive only one scholarship. Remember, the deadline to apply is May 31, 2018.

LOUISE JORJORIAN MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP to the outstanding overall student ($5,000)

Beloved broadcaster Louise Jorjorian established her life and career in San Francisco in radio and television, landing her first job as Publicity Manager for KGO radio, and then became Promotion Director for KSFO Radio, where she worked for 25 years.

LINDA GIANNECCHINI PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT SCHOLARSHIP $2,000 toward a formal degree in the pursuit of professional development

Linda Giannecchini is our most renowned local and national NATAS leader.  She has previously served as National Vice Chairman, Vice President, Secretary and Trustee. Locally, Linda is a past President and chaired the Awards, Scholarship and Speakers’ Bureau Committees. Linda currently serves as Co-Chair of the Media Museum of Northern California Consortium, and the Archives/Museum Committee. She’s an Emmy® award recipient and a member of the Silver Circle.

JERRY JENSEN MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP to the outstanding graduate student ($3,000)

Jerry Jensen anchored News Scene on KGO with Van Amburg for more than ten years until his death on March 26, 1984. Jerry died of pancreatic cancer at the age of 49. Jensen joined KGO-TV in 1969 as the weekend anchor. Prior to channel 7, he anchored at KBHK and KRON. Jerry was awarded the NATAS Governors’ Citation in 1968.

STEVE DAVIS MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP to the outstanding undergraduate student ($3,000)

Steve Davis was an anchor/reporter for KGO-TV news for more than 20 years in the ‘70’s and ‘80s. He covered major events from Patty Hearst to Jim Jones and anchored the 5 p.m. News. Davis was let go in 1989 but won an age discrimination suit against ABC in 1992. Davis died of cancer on March 18, 2005.

PETER J. MARINO, JR. MEMORIAL PRODUCTION SCHOLARSHIP to the outstanding undergraduate student in production ($2,000)

Peter Marino was a stalwart member of the Chapter and co-founder of the Scholarship Program. He was well known for his public relation exploits as a music and video producer. Marino was a principle in a Bay Area recording studio and represented several recording companies. This scholarship covers a variety of production job disciplines.

RIGO CHACON REPORTING SCHOLARSHIP to the outstanding undergraduate student in reporting ($2,000)
Multiple Emmy® award-winning television reporter Rigo Chacon worked at KGO-ABC7 for 29 years as a general assignment reporter and opened the first Santa Clara County bureau of a San Francisco-based TV station. Among his many honors, Chacon is a member of the Television Academy’s prestigious Silver Circle.

SHELDON “SHELLY” FAY MEMORIAL VIDEOGRAPHY SCHOLARSHIP to the outstanding undergraduate student in videography ($2,000)

The family and friends of Shelly Fay started a scholarship to an outstanding videographer. Shelly was a multitalented television professional who worked in the San Francisco Bay Area as a producer, photographer, director and editor for more than 25 years, mostly at KPIX-CBS5.

“MISS NANCY” BESST GRADUATE MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP to the outstanding graduate student ($2,000)

 “Miss Nancy” Besst, one of the founding members of the NATAS Northern California Chapter, started her career in Baltimore, MD as a staff teacher for Romper Room. Moving to San Francisco she became “Miss Nancy” on Romper Room from 1958-1969. She hosted many programs on KQED, KGO, KRON, and KBHK. Nancy is a member of the Silver Circle, 1988, and has received the Governors’ Service Medallion, 1994; Governors’ Citation, 1996, and the Governors’ Award, 1998.

Our Chapter of the National Television Academy of Arts & Sciences awards these scholarships to encourage students who demonstrate leadership and talent in advancing the artistic, cultural, educational, and technical qualities of television. Scholarships are designed for formal education only, not training or seminars.  Read about eligibility requirements and application procedures at this link.

Scholarship checks will be presented at the annual Gold & Silver Circle Induction Luncheon, Saturday, October 20, 2018 at the Park Central Hotel in San Francisco. Winners will be informed in advance of this event.

Link to College Scholarships on STUDENTS page

Back to “Off Camera” INDEX page…