Chapter Nominations for National 2018 Student High School Production Awards

By Keith Sanders
Chapter Education Chairperson


Chapter High School Student Production Awards of Excellence are automatically submitted to the national contest. An incredible 11 of 13 award recipients were from the SF/NorCal NATAS chapter this year! 

“Eleven chapter nominations for the national High School Student Production Awards is unprecedented,” said Keith Sanders, the Chapter’s Education Committee chairperson. “I continue to be astounded by the talent and skill displayed by our high school students.”

This year’s submissions were culled from a record-breaking total of over 2,000 entries from the regional NATAS chapters. Nominees were selected from entries in 23 programming and craft categories.

The awards presentation will be live-streamed from the Los Angeles campus of Emerson College at noon on Oct. 18, and will be hosted by Tom Bergeron, host of ABC’s Dancing with the Stars. The presentation will be live-streamed at the following locations:

NATAS/National Student Production Awards:

NATAS/Student Awards Twitter:

NATAS Facebook:

Here are the eleven nominated entries from our chapter:

Newscast – Unleashed, Whitney High School WTV19
Faith Abercrombie, Ryan Witt, Emma Perra, Emily Manzer, Meghan Townsley, Alyssa Pearce, Ryan Bower, George Loureiro, Kylie Thompson, Evan Risucci. Ben Barnholdt, Advisor

General Assignment – Serious News – Voyage Through Generations, Wai’anae High School, Searider Productions
Tyler Bright, Julia Forrest, Deana Goslin, Austin Ibanes. John Allen, Advisor

Arts and Entertainment/Cultural Affairs – Off Beat, Tamalpais High School, Academy of Integrated Humanities and New Media
Maren Curtis, Anya DiMaio, Siena Kuhn, Lila McNeil. Mike Goldstein, Mike Lavezzo and Sharilyn Scharf, Advisors

Music Video – I Built A Friend, Buchanan High School, Clovis, CA
Hannah Weaver, Sienna Delgado. Daniel Pearce, Advisor

Short Form – Fiction – Tomorrow The World, Moanalua High School, Honolulu, HI
Camryn Tabiolo, Kainoa Ferguson, Logan Mauricio, Annika Wong. Mark Ikenaga, Advisor

Short Form – Non-Fiction – Heart of the Horse Therapy Ranch, Buchanan High School, Clovis, CA
Madelyn Mason, Ulysses Larios, Riley Wissink, Dylan Nulick. Daniel Pearce, Advisor

Public Service (PSAs) – Good Food = Better Mood, Wai’anae High School, Searider Productions, Wai’anae, HI
Chloe Galinato, Makana Allen, Justin Rey Durupan, Andrew Chalmers. John Allen, Advisor

Commercial – Let’s have a Debate, Whitney High School WCTV19, Rocklin, CA
Jack Grove, Evan Risucci. Ben Barnholdt, Advisor

Animation/Graphics/Special Effects – I Built A Friend, Buchanan High School, Clovis, CA
Sienna Delgado, Hannah Weaver. Daniel Pearce, Advisor

Audio/Sound – Tutoring, Moanalua High School, Honolulu, HI
Kainoa Ferguson, Camryn Tabiolo. Mark Ikenaga, Advisor

Writing – Tomorrow The World, Moanalua High School, Honolulu, HI
Kainoa Ferguson, Logan Mauricio, Camryn Tabiolo, Annika Wong. Mark Ikenaga, Advisor

“The evolution of television, exhibited by the great work of these outstanding student productions, is in the good hands of these diverse and talented students who will become the leaders and innovators of our industry in the 21st century,” said Adam Sharp, Interim-President & CEO (NATAS).

“The breadth and scope of the work created by these talented students continues to surprise and amaze us as we look to the future of this great industry,” said, NATAS Education Chair, Danielle Mannion.

Recipients will be announced beginning at noon PDT October 18, 2018 via a live web stream produced by NATAS

Senior VP of Daytime EMMY® Awards, David Michaels, Education Chair, Danielle Mannion and David Parks, Ignition Entertainment.

NATAS would like to thank and acknowledge Emerson College ( for its facility and participation in making these awards possible.

Back to “Off Camera” INDEX page…