2018 Collegiate Scholarship Recipients Announced

Jia Yi Lim                     Teyler Wallace                Ila Bo Kovitz          George Garnica
By Keith Sanders
Chapter Education Chairperson

The San Francisco/Northern California Chapter of The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences will present four $2,000 scholarships at the Gold & Silver Circle Induction Luncheon on Oct. 20, at the Marriott Park Central Hotel in San Francisco.

Jia Yi Lim will receive the $2,000 Peter J. Marino Jr. Memorial Production Scholarship. Lim is from Malaysia and taking classes at De Anza College.  Instructor Dennis Irwin says Lim has an impressive capacity for the technical aspects of film production.  She wants to be a director.

Teyler Wallace will receive the $2,000 Sheldon “Shelly” Fay Memorial Videography Scholarship. Wallace graduated with an Associate’s Degree of Arts in Motion Picture Television from the Academy of Art University.  She is taking additional classes at Laney College.  Her instructor Noemi Zeigler writes that Wallace knows who she is and has a clear vision of her life’s purpose.  She is starting her own production company.

Ila Bo Kavitz, will receive the $2,000 “Miss Nancy” Besst Graduate Memorial Scholarship.  Bo is a student at The University of California Berkeley Graduate School of Journalism.  Professor William Drummond writes, “I have logged 34 years teaching at UC Berkeley, and I’d place Kavitz among the top 3 percent of students I’ve taught.”  She is a reporter who wants to produce investigative documentaries.

George Garnica will receive the first $2,000 Linda Giannecchini Professional Development Scholarship.  Garnica is a fulltime photojournalist at KSEE in Fresno.  His colleague and instructor, KSEE Anchor Faith Sidlow writes, “What’s most amazing about George is that he works a full eight-hour shift as a morning news photographer and then he goes to Fresno State where he’s taking a full load of classes and getting all A’s.”  He wants to be a Journalism Teacher or Mass Communications Professor.

The scholarships are funded through donations to the TV Academy Fund, Inc.  The chapters 501(c)(3) foundation.  The Education Committee is excited to present scholarships to these four deserving students but disappointed that several other scholarships were not awarded this year.  The complete list of scholarships available can be found on the chapters website at www.emmysf.tv,click on students and scholarships.


Peter Marino Memorial Production Scholarship – Jia Yi Lim – De Anza College

“Miss Nancy” Besst Memorial Graduate Scholarship – Ila Bo Krovitz – University of California, Berkeley