Welcome, New NATAS Members!

By Steve Shlisky

Chapter President


Hello to all the new members of the San Francisco/Northern California Chapter of The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences.

For those of you who have renewed your membership, welcome back. I know that the local Emmy® Awards are on everyone’s minds, and this year’s event is full of outstanding videos.

Last weekend, I watched just over 10 percent of the entries for the 48th Annual 2018-2019 Northern California Area Emmy® Awards. By and large, these submissions have been among the best I have seen this Chapter produce.  It’s evident our Chapter utilizes the best talent, techniques, and technology in the broadcast and digital industry.

Our Chapter is grateful to the committee members, who gave up part of their weekend to certify nearly 1,000 entries: Devin Fehely, Arlen Fernandez, Randy Forsman, Craig Franklin, Alison Gibson, Luis Godinez, Richard Harmelink, Brooks Jarosz, Da Lin, Tony Martinez, Joyce Mitchell, Scott Patterson, Keith Sanders, Manjula Varghese, Julie Watts,  Blake Wilberding, Pamela Young, Noemi Ziegler and Patty Zubov.

Special thanks to Chapter Award Committee Chair Wayne Freedman and National Award Chair Linda Giannecchini for riding herd over the myriad details publishing the Call For Entries. And as always, a special salute to our longtime Executive Director Darryl Compton who manages the countless minutiae that make this award experience possible.

Good luck to all who have submitted this year. The judges will be impressed with our offerings. It is you, the members – through your toil, labor, and dedication to excellence – who contribute to this great brand. I thank you all for entering this year’s Emmy® Awards.


Back to “Off Camera” INDEX page…

This entry was posted by . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.