Board of Governors Election: New, Returning Leaders

By Richard Harmelink
Chapter Vice President, Fresno

Brooks Jarosz

Seven Governors have been elected by the Members of the San Francisco/Northern California Chapter of The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences.

The two-year term for the new Governors begins July 1, and they fill the vacancies of termed-out Governors and other Board openings.

Anthony Rutanashoodech

The two newly-elected Governors are: Brooks
Jarosz, investigative reporter at KTVU Fox 2, and Anthony Rutanashoodech, photojournalist at KNTV NBC Bay Area.

Other elected Governors are: Alison Gibson of Media Cool, who is also a national trustee and Chapter treasurer; Larena Hernandez of Bond Manufacturing Co.; Scott Patterson of San Francisco State University; Kim Stephens of KMPH Fox 26, who recently completed a four-year term as Chapter Vice President, Fresno; and Pamela Young of KHON, who just finished a four-year term as Vice President, Hawaii.

With the addition of the new Governors and the returning Governors, your San Francisco/Northern California Chapter Board of Governors will continue the Chapter’s mission of the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational and technical achievements within the television industry.

Jarosz hopes to “bring a new perspective to the Board,” while Rutanashoodech says he is “always looking for ways to learn and grow from different experiences.”

Also elected to serve the Chapter during the next two years beginning July 1 are the following Officers and Trustees:

President: Steve Shlisky, KTVU Fox 2/Laney College;
Vice President-San Francisco: Don Sanchez, KGO-TV ABC7 (retired);
Vice President-Sacramento: Joyce Mitchell, 4 U Productions;
Vice President-Fresno: Richard Harmelink, KFSN ABC30;
Vice President-Hawaii: Michael Harris, Hawaii News Now;
Vice President-Reno: Terri Russell, KOLO 8;
Secretary: Randy Forsman, KCRA 3;
Treasurer: Alison Gibson, Media Cool;
Past President: Keith Sanders, San Jose State University, and;
National Trustee: Joyce Mitchell, 4 U Productions
Alternate Trustee: Alecia Reid, KRON 4
The position of Vice President-Small Markets, remains vacant at this time.

The complete BOARD OF GOVERNORS list is always accessible on the website under the ABOUT US page.

See the April Off Camera article about the Board of Governors.

The Board has room for others who would like to join either the Board or one of our Committees.  If you are interested, please email Chapter Executive Director Darryl Compton at

Back to “Off Camera” INDEX page…