Off Camera Header 2021

42nd Annual Sports Emmy® Award Recipients Announced

On June 8, 2021, The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) announced the winners of the 42nd Annual Sports Emmy® Awards. The show was live-streamed at Watch.TheEmmys.TV and available on the various Emmy® apps for iOS, tvOS, Android, FireTV, and Roku (full list at

The live-virtual presentation was filled with a star-studded group of sports television personalities as presenters such as Emmanuel Acho, Studio Host (FOX), Nate Burleson, Studio Analyst (CBS Sports), Fran Charles, Studio Host (MLB Network), Jim Gray, Sportscaster (Showtime), Andrew Hawkins Studio Analyst (NFL Network), Andrea Kremer, Correspondent (HBO), Laura Rutledge, Studio Host (ESPN), Mike Tirico, Studio Host (NBC Sports) and Matt Winer, Studio Host (Turner).

With more women nominated in sports personality categories than ever before, there was a special roundtable celebrating this accomplishment introduced by WNBA player Asia Durr, that included most of the nominated female sportscasters such as Erin Andrews (FOX), Ana Jurka (Telemundo), Adriana Monsalve (Univision/TUDN), Rachel Nichols (ESPN), Pilar Pérez (ESPN Deportes), Lisa Salters (ESPN) and Tracy Wolfson (CBS).

In addition to the distinguished nominees and winners, Elle Duncan, anchor (ESPN) announced a grant to historically black colleges/universities (HBCUs) sponsored by Coca-Cola honoring a HBCU student studying for a career in sports journalism administered by the National Academy’s Foundation.

Winners were announced in 46 categories including Outstanding Live Sports Special, Live Sports Series and Playoff Coverage, three Documentary categories, Outstanding Play-by-Play Announcer, Studio Host, and Emerging On-Air Talent, among others.

Read the complete release here.

Back to the “Off Camera” INDEX page…