Off Camera Header 2021

Emmy® Golden Gala – Saturday Night, June 5th

Unlike any other awards ceremony, this year’s Golden Gala is a jubilee, celebrating 50 years of the San Francisco/Northern California Chapter of NATAS presenting the Emmy® statuette for excellence in television. We would like to congratulate all of the nominees. It is truly an honor to be considered for an Emmy® Award. Tune in June 5th  as we announce the recipients and hear their acceptance speeches.

Out of safety concerns because of COVID-19, once again the Golden Gala and Emmy® presentations will be virtual. But a celebration it will be, and fun will be had by one and all. Incorporated in the gala webcast – look for taste of elegance, excitement and surprise.

Awards Chair Wayne Freedman with photographer Ken Day

The show begins at 7 PM sharp on June 5, 2021 and you will be greeted by Awards Chair Wayne Freedman from the Palace of Fine Arts, an historical landmark with Emmy® history to honor the 50 year Golden Gala.  Our host/presenters this year from Sacramento: Edie Lambert & Gulstan Dart from KCRA 3 and Jairo Díaz-Pedraza from KUVS Univision 19; Reno: Tabnie Dozier, KOLO 8; San Francisco: Luz Peña, KGO ABC 7; Mill Valley: Vern Glenn, KPIX 5; and Honolulu, Hawaii: Pamela Young, KHON 2.  And of course, our announcer: Len Ramirez, KPIX 5.  

Sacramento: Edie Lambert, Gulstan Dart, Jairo Díaz-Pedraza

Sacramento: Edie Lambert, Gulstan Dart, Jairo Díaz-Pedraza

Reno: Tabnie Dozier, San Francisco: Luz Peña

Mill Valley: Vern Glenn, Hawaii: Pamela Young

And now, some advice for viewing and participating in our virtual Golden Gala.


  • Watch dual-screens of show & Zoom party on website:
  • Website will also have downloadable Program & Rundown with category times
  • Watch the Ceremony on YouTube – Starts at 7pm on Sat. 6/5
  • Watch Zoom Party on YouTube
  • Nominees can join party on Zoom – Starts at 6:30pm on Sat. 6/5

We’d love for you to post and share on all social media channels with our Emmy®-night hashtag #EmmySF50. Also join us on Facebook for live commenting and chat before, during, and after the show.


In addition to the 93 categories of Emmy® Awards being handed out we will also be presenting our Governors’ Awards (announced in last month’s Off Camera).  The Governors’ Award to Wayne Freedman, Reporter, KGO ABC 7 News; The Governors’ Citation to James Stimson, Assistant News Director, KCRA 3 and Steve Shlisky, former Producer/Editor at KTVU Fox 2 and now instructor at Laney College.  Steve will also be receiving his Past Presidents statue and life membership gold card from President Randy Forsman.  The Governors” Service Medallion to: John Catchings, Catchings & Associates, and Luis Godinez, News Director, KUVS Univision 19.  In addition, we will look back at Emmy® galas of the past with flashbacks and honor those who have passed with the Linda Giannecchini In Memoriam.

We hope you have ordered your 40% off Breathless Sparkling Wine to enjoy during the show – CODE EMMY40 for 6 bottles ($5 shipping!), CODE 3EMMY40 for the special EMMY 3-Pack. And we would like to thank you our show sponsor Cotchett, Pitre & McCarthy, LLP 

Production Team: (clockwise) Ken Day, Photographer; Toby Momtaz, Production Coordinator; Joyce Mitchell, Producer; Len Ramirez, Announcer; Steve Shlisky, Editor


Back to the “Off Camera” INDEX page…